Shake, Rattle and Roll!

I felt the earthquake! Here in Chicago!!

This morning there was an earthquake on the New Madrid fault. From my childhood in St. Louis, I know that the New Madrid fault runs through the very southern tip of Missouri. The earthquake was a 5.4 this morning. The news is repeatedly saying that this the strongest earthquake in 40 years, which I am sure it is, but they seem to be ignoring the fact that there have been similar earthquakes in the region much more recently. I have now felt two earthquakes in my lifetime. The first was a 4.6 in St. Louis from the same fault line! I was in 5th or 6th grade, so it must have been around 1990.
This morning though, the quake was strong enough to wake me from dead sleep! My bed was shaking! And my first instinct was that it was an earthquake! But I couldn’t believe I was right! I got up and went into the bathroom and two little glass candle holders that hang instead of resting on a surface were swinging! And a hook that hangs off of a bar was swaying wildly!! I couldn’t believe what I was seeing!

What a start to the day!!

I think the reason I felt the earthquake so strongly is because I am in a tall building. I am sure it was even worse is highrises! Can you imagine? Tall buildings amplify the shaking, so I am sure the tall downtown highrises felt like a carnival ride!

Can’t wait to see what other people felt at the office!

2 responses to “Shake, Rattle and Roll!

  1. Actually, it was NOT the New Madrid Fault.

    They’re now saying the epicenter was in the Illinois basin – Ozark dome region according to the Website earthquake.usgs.gov.

    I live in the St. Louis area, and things rattled for about 30 seconds here. I think I may have felt an aftershock later-sometime before 6:30 when the alarm went off-but no one else I talk to can verify that.

  2. I remember when the Loma Prieta earthquake hit the Bay Area in ’89, we felt it clear down in Santa Barbara. I was on the tenth floor of the dorm and it definitely swayed…but my friend on ground level didn’t feel a thing.

    I also have the Northridge earthquake of ’94 on my resume…sometimes I’m glad I don’t live in California anymore!

Leave a Reply

