Today’s news

My cell phone has been acting up. It likes to cut out now and then, and occasionally, I will call someone and I can’t hear them at all, just dead silence. So I called AT&T to see if they could do one of those software upgrades they can do. Well, apparently, from my description, they decided it was a “warranty issue.” Since it was my only phone, and they couldn’t run a line test on the phone while I was on it with them, they told me to go to the store. I was a little unhappy about that, because I was sure the store would be forever away from my apartment.

Well, it turns out, there is a store just a few blocks away, so I bundled up (because it was in the 30s today!) and headed over. The agent wound up calling the same people I had talked to, and low and behold, it was a warranty issue, and because I had to do an insurance replacement for my phone about 6 months ago, the replace phone was still under warranty, and I qualified for a brand new phone. But, I guess my phone wasn’t very popular (I have a knack for picking the unpopular phone by the way…this has happened before…) and they discontinued my model. This is the perfect scenario if you ever have it happen to you (Note to self: This means don’t buy the uberpopular phone…Razr anyone??). It means that they have to give you an “equivalent phone.” And equivalent seems to mean equivalent to the price you payed when you first got the phone…i.e. hopefully, cheap from your pocket, but expensive for the list price. But, here’s the good part, said equivalently priced phone will likely have many features that were better than your old phone, because the technology has advanced. Did you follow all of that?

Back to my phone…That is exactly what happened! I am getting a snazzy new phone for FREE! It has a 2.0 megapixel camera, video, 3G internet (which is broadband speed!), an MP3 player, radio, and it’s even still a slider phone like my old one (which I really like). Oh, and it’s white! And because it’s a Sony Ericsson, it also has burnt orange trim…yes, you heard me correctly, it’s burnt orange and white! Hook ‘Em Horns!! Want to see it?? You’re gonna be jealous!

I am sort of jealous of myself right now…That is a sexy phone…

One response to “Today’s news

  1. Whew…my husband spent two years on a project in Chicago to *improve* AT&T’s cell coverage in Chicago, so I’m happy that wasn’t the problem. And, cool phone by the way!

Leave a Reply

