Stress Sucks

When I was younger, without fail, if I was extremely stressed about a project or test, one of two things would happen. My right eye would start twitching (it was imperceptible to everyone but me and it drove me crazy) or, I would get a cold as soon as the stressful event had concluded.

In the last 6 months, my body must have gotten tired of the same old, same old. I have, like all of the women on my mother’s side of the family (with the exclusion of only my mother) , started to get migraine headaches when I am stressed. They are just a blast. They run from my left temple, just behind my left eye, back through my head just over my left ear, down my neck and into my left shoulder blade. They make me irritable, and miserable.

I am currently sitting in my office with the lights off, and blinds closed, because it really does help. The only light I have is from my monitor (and I am considering turning down the brightness) and a bit of ambient light squeaking through the blinds. Problem is, the landscapers are also doing the lawn maintenance right outside the window. And that is not a pleasant sound. In fact, I sort of want to open the window and begin throttling office supplies at them to make them fear me and run away.

Oh, did I mention I took a prescription-grade Aleve about an hour ago? Yeah. That did diddly squat.

The one thing I know works without having to go to a doc for presciption migraine medicine is the Chiropractor. She and her massage therapist can work out the tension and I feel so much better. But I don’t have time to go today.

I am just going to sit here, completely still, in the dark for a while.

3 responses to “Stress Sucks

  1. Pingback: Massage Therapy Talk » Blog Archive » Stress Sucks

  2. There are many types of stress relief. For the most part take comfort in the fact that you are not alone. I can tell you that natural remedies are the best recourse. Your stress levels will lower and before you know it you’ll be enjoying restful nights again.

  3. When I am honestly and truly stressed beyond all inklings of reasonableness…my right eye twitches. The last time that happened, I was the matron of honor in my best friend’s wedding…2003. I guess I know now what truly stresses me out, or I secretly knew they’d wind up divorced before their 4th anniversary. 😉

    Plus…I find blogging helps to clear the pain from my head.

Leave a Reply

