Temptation

So I am contemplating packing up and moving to Chicago already. Just doing it. Sell my house, get up there, get a place, find a job waiting tables and do that until I can find a real job (not to offend any service industry folks…you know what I mean…). It seems finding a job without a Chicago address is like finding the sock the dryer ate. You know it has to be there, but the obstacles imposed seem insurmountable.

I am just so ready to get out here and start my new life.

Any of you ever done something impulsive like that? Move without a job? Change your whole life? I cannot tell you how tempted I am.

4 responses to “Temptation

  1. “Not to offend any service industry folks…”

    I’m not one anymore, so it’s all good 🙂

    There was a period a couple of years ago where I contemplated moving to San Francisco and just starting over.

    I didn’t because I started dating a girl, then I started managing. But the impulse is still there from time to time.

  2. When I moved to Sacramento after college, I didn’t have a job. I did have a roommate though, a friend from school – so that helped the adjustment a bit.

    Took me about a month to get a job, which I thought was pretty good considering it was 1994 and jobs were sort of scarce then. But, I couldn’t stay in Santa Barbara anymore.

    Ten years ago, I moved here to Dallas. The only person I really knew out here other than a few work colleagues was my boyfriend at the time. I did have a job, but moving to Texas when I’d lived in California my whole life was a serious life change.

    The time to do things like this is when you’re single. Once you’re married, relocating becomes considerably more complicated – as I’ve found out twice.

  3. Dylan, don’t forget, I was service industry for a while too… 🙂

    As for the dating thing, that happened to me last year when I wanted to move! This year, I purposely won’t let myself date someone just so I don’t get sucked in!!

    Stacy, that’s gutsy. I am really pretty willing to do it. My biggest problem is my house here, and the fact that I won’t really know what kind of apartment I can afford in Chicago without a proper job. I’m torn…

  4. I want to live vicariously through you, Rach. DO IT! Once you have twins, moving to a city without a job is NOT an option. So I’ll find great joy watching YOU do it! Ha.

    I’m really excited to watch your journey unfold in Chicago. Exciting.

Leave a Reply

