Things I Will and Won’t Do When I Have a Wedding (Someday)

I Will:

  • Get married before the start of football season
  • Hold the reception in an UberSwanky facility
  • Play Big Band era music during dinner
  • Be sure the bartenders don’t put out a tip jar at the reception (TACKY! They should get tipped by the person who hired them!)

I Won’t:

  • Hold my wedding on a UT Longhorn football game day (or any other football game day, or any major final championship day–i.e. Game 7 of the World Series, championship game of March Madness, etc.)
  • Hold my reception in a nondescript ballroom that seems to have too many purposes
  • Have my wedding on a major holiday weekend, effectively hijacking my guests’ vacation time
  • Have an engagement party, three showers and a bachelorette party that overlap guest lists (particularly if I get married over thirty).

And finally, I will be sure to not have my wedding on a UT Longhorn football game day…oh, did I already mention that one? Yeah, I am really serious about that…

Hook ‘Em Horns! So glad to have you back in my life!

What would you do or not do at your wedding (or DID you do)?

4 responses to “Things I Will and Won’t Do When I Have a Wedding (Someday)

  1. You’ve put exact words to my biggest wedding “don’t” – “[don’t] Hold my reception in a nondescript ballroom that seems to have too many purposes.” I usually stumble with trying to quantify how the location has to have significant architecture, or something to that effect, but your sentence is much more succinct.

  2. 🙂 glad to be of service!!

  3. You’d be amazed at the things you can do with a non-descript ballroom! Granted, our reception was at the Intercontinental, but we were in a smaller room that definitely needed some work…turned out beautiful!

    I wouldn’t have sweated so much of the small stuff. The problem though, is you really don’t know it’s small stuff until after the fact.

  4. That’s not a non-descript ballroom in my opinion. Non-descript is one that has stuff in it that makes no sense together. Or at least the instance I am thinking of. There was a raised pulpit in one corner that reminded me of Moby Dick!! (remember the pulpit in Moby Dick? I think it was the bow of boat!)…Hotel ballrooms seem different to me than this sort of place (actually in a strip center!!)…I dunno… granted, the actually definition of non-descript probably would describe hotel ballrooms, but for some reason they don’t seem like that to me because of the hotel part…

Leave a Reply

