To Miracles

I received some troubling news this week. The mother of my friend Tricia (pregnant with twins, Tricia) has cancer. This has been an ongoing battle for some time now, but this week I learned she has just 3 to 6 months to live. I just don’t know what to do with that. She has been in my life, even though it has been at a distance, since I was five years old. When I think of good hearty laughter, I think of their family. I think of sitting around their kitchen table or their patio table with rolling guffaws bouncing off the walls. Arms outstretched, sparkling eyes, tons of teeth. They are a huge part of my memories, and Janet is a friend, and aunt, and surrogate mother in those thoughts.

This started with skin cancer. It progressed to lung cancer, and finally, has landed in her brain. A simple sun spot, and it’s killing her.

This just makes me sad. She is too young to leave us. She will barely meet her grandchildren. She was supposed to be one of those people I would know for years and years to come. With another mother/daughter trip ahead someday like the one we took 10 years ago. Perhaps with Tricia’s children and my children in tow, Grandmas at the ready.

This is the wrong person to go. I don’t know who is the right one, but Janet is the wrong one. If every I prayed for miracles, now is the time to remember how.

2 responses to “To Miracles

  1. I will definitely keep her in my prayers.

  2. I’m so sorry. My cousin which is only 6 might have cancer so I kind of know what its like. I really am sorry though. I hope everything gets better for you.

Leave a Reply

