What’s Better Than a Longhorn?

I am seeing someone again…Cause what’s a month in Ty’s life without a new boy…Oh, that’s right, all of 2005 and more than half of 2006…

So anyway, I am seeing someone who hits so much of my criteria for “Perfect Man” that my father is even happy. I decided I needed a change of pace. I needed to look into that OTHER half of my Mewish self. The one that has actually come to have a much greater effect on my belief system. That Jewish half. Here I am, running around town dating good Christian boys, and wondering why we didn’t see eye to eye on our beliefs. Like, ever. Suddenly, the phrase my grandmother had repeated over and over again in the past few years, suddenly rang true “Why don’t you just find yourself a nice Jewish boy??”, her raspy New York accent cutting through the phone lines like a knife.

Where is one to find a nice Jewish boy in Dallas these days? I certainly wasn’t running into them. In fact, I haven’t dated a Jewish guy since college. So, I turned to my trusty sidekick, The Internets, and summoned the powers of Internet Dating to my side. Sure enough, there were a few. A few. A sad sickly number to be sure, but enough that I could quickly see my values lined up in an instant with theirs. So I read profiles and looked at pictures and e-mailed and winked, and struck no gold. Then I got an e-mail from one of the guys I had looked at but not yet e-mailed. The one I had mentally labeled, The Longhorn Neurologist.

We started talking and have now gone on two dates. He is near perfect! The one thing I wish I could change though is his height. He is but 5’8″ and at my oh so lofty 5’6″, in heels, I am taller than him. And I am not used to that. I prefer to gaze upward. My neck has been conditioned to that. But ce la vie, I can get over that. I mean, to date a Jewish, Longhorn, Neurologist, I think I can work on my crazy height rules…Compromise, right? A trade of height for brains, beliefs and adoration. Hmm. I think I might be on the right track.

One response to “What’s Better Than a Longhorn?

  1. I dated the Aggie Veterinarian twice…great on paper, lousy in real life…LOL. He was pretty darn near perfect until I found out he went to a veterinarian conference in New Orleans with his admin at the office. 😉

    I only share that because it was the first thing I thought of when I saw “Longhorn Neurologist”.

    And…height means nothing. I never would have met Seth had I not “sacrificed” my height requirement!

Leave a Reply

