The Good, The Bad, The Ugly…

The Good:

I went to the dentist yesterday–for the first time in eeek…shhhh…THREE years!! I was terrified I would have a cavity after that long, and that I would be told that my wisdom teeth needed to come out. Someone smiled on me because not only am I cavity free, but my two (I was only born with uppers) wisdom teeth are hunky-dory, and my insurance covered the entire visit! Not even a co-pay! And on top of all that, the dentist thought I had had braces because my teeth are so straight. I had the pleasure of telling him they are au naturale.

The Bad:

Other than the wonderful teeth cleaning, I am feeling a bit down in the dumps. Sorry for myself really. It could quite possibly be related to err…a monthly visitor, but I am feeling down nonetheless. I haven’t heard anything from any of the jobs I have submitted my resume for. Not a peep. I know sometimes it takes a while, but still. I wanted to send it out and have people crawling across the internet anxious to meet me. Of course, my rational mind knows that’s more than a bit unrealistic, but still, it’s what we all want, right? Bit of a blow to the ego.

On top of that, I keep wondering if this is the time in my life when I need to move. Get out of Dodge. I am young, single, kid-free, and here I am tied to a house. I could sell my house, make a small profit, and move on. Go to New York, or Atlanta, where I have family, and get to know them a little better. Especially Atlanta. I have little cousins there. One is about 4 and the other is about 1, and I have never even met them. I have a friend there too. And I like Atlanta. I dunno. It’s this whole looking for a new job thing. It has my mind just racing with possibilities. And I really feel like it is my house that is my albatross. Without my house I would easily have an extra $400 a month–more when you include money spent on repairs, home warranty, and renovations. Which either means money to save, money to burn, or money for a pay cut that would get me into some jobs that my salary puts me out of range for. And the last option would give me a chance to change career paths. But, on the other hand, I love my house.

The Ugly:

Ok, well not ugly, but it has to do with appearances, and the phrase isn’t the good, the bad, and the they-look-somewhat-similar…Yesterday, I saw a picture of Kelly Clarkson. I have been told again and again that I look like her, and for the first time yesterday, I saw it. It was sort of creepy actually. It’s really in face only though. She has a better stomach than I do (lately anyway) and I have better legs. But, our faces are remarkably similar. So here are a couple of photos of my celebrity look-a-like…

Here’s one where I think you can see why people say we look alike…my nose is thinner but we have very similar eyes and mouths. I wish I could find a better picture of myself that shows it better. That’s me of course, on the right.

Now here’s what I am wondering if I should do to my hair…if she can pull it off, I should be able to too, right?

4 responses to “The Good, The Bad, The Ugly…

  1. Wow..I never knew you were interested in the ATL. Big difference between there and NYC. Seems kind of like saying “I’m thirsty…not sure if I want a half-cafe mocha latte or a tall glass of bourbon”.
    =)
    Good luck either way!

  2. Ahhhhh… I have fond memories of Buckhead clubs (mostly the women) and a great Jamaican Coffee shop. But the jobs are always better in Dallas, especially if you are a computer geek like me.

  3. Wow! You two do look a lot alike. Or even Rachel Ray. I think that cut would look great. Also, it’s very versatile and you could do a million things with it. My unsolicited two-cents says go for it!

  4. You get my vote!

Leave a Reply

